Review: Eyeliners- Maybelline vs Kate

Few weeks ago I was asking a friend about eyeliner, she said she used Kate and highly recommended it. So on the same day, I went to a nearby drugstore and tried out Kate’s eyeliner.

To be honest, I wasn’t so sure about it because I have used Kate’s gel liner before, and i wouldn’t recommend. Oh well, i thought maybe the liquid liner is different.

As I tried it on hand, I was instantly disappointed, it seemed really watery, and the black was not even. So it would take a few attempts to have a black line, I left it on my hand and then I went to work.

After work, I walked pass another shop which was displaying Maybelline’s hyper sharp liner, since I already have some products on my hand, why not try it out to see the difference. I was surprised by how big the difference is! Maybelline’s liner gave a really soild black line that doesn’t smudge. I would give it 5 wows!

20120709-195350.jpg

So next I thought, let’s see how well it last! I got home, wash some dishes…and then Kate’s liner smudged even more! But Maybelline’s liner stay gorgeous!

20120709-195459.jpg

Okay, then I thought with the staying power Maybelline’s liner must be harder to remove. So here comes the last test for these two liners.

I used purity organic cleansing lotion to try to remove these two liners, since it’s a really mild lotion, I knew it wouldn’t be easy to get it off. But after using it twice, unbelievably Maybelline’s was the first one to disappear! And Kate’s liner just doesn’t go away.

20120709-195523.jpg

At the end of the test. Maybelline totally KO Kate’s liner.

Conclusion: Maybelline did great on all rounds, from color, staying power to the ease of removing it.
Kate is the hardest to remove, however it smudges easily as well. Price-wise, both cost similar in Japan, but if I buy it in the US, Maybelline is actually cheaper!

So what eyeliner do you use?

************

♥Follow me♥

@beautyasians

@asiansbeauty

************

Leave a Reply

